St. Mary's County Government

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

House Bill 1036 - Public Utilities - Generating Stations – Generation and Siting (Renewable Energy Certainty Act) OPPOSE

February 25, 2025

The Honorable C.T. Wilson, Chairman Economic Matters Committee 230 Taylor House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: House Bill 1036 - Public Utilities - Generating Stations - Generation and Siting (Renewable Energy Certainty Act)

Dear Chairman Wilson:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County <u>OPPOSE</u> House Bill 1036 - Public Utilities - Generating Stations - Generation and Siting (Renewable Energy Certainty Act) which is being heard in the Economic Matters Committee.

We urge an unfavorable report on House Bill 1036. We do not support the introduction of this legislation and do not believe it would benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. Thank you for your consideration as well as your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/tr T:/Consent/2025/035

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey
Delegate Todd Morgan
Delegate Matthew Morgan
Delegate Brian Crosby
Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.
Commissioner Eric Colvin
Commissioner Michael Hewitt
Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow
David Weiskopf, County Administrator
David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator
Buffy Giddens, County Attorney
John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 • CHESAPEAKE BUILDING • 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 *1350 • FAX 301.475.4935 • www.stmaryscountymd.gov • CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV